Maths

Even if I am not a professionally trained mathematician, maths is fundamental for my work and I always enjoyed it a lot. For this reason, I decided to group here a few articles related to it.
How to draw Mandelbrot and Julia fractals (1998-2002), IT A view of the Mandelbrot set In this article, written long ago, I described a practical way to draw on a computer the Mandelbrot and Julia fractal sets.
Mandelbrot and Julia sets in Java (2004), FR, IT Une vue de l'ensemble de Julia A practical example based on the first article: two Java applets to draw Mandelbrot and Julia sets, directly inside the browser. They are open source, so you can download their source code.
Analsysis 2.3beta2 (1998-2002), FR, IT A screenshot of Analysis 2.3. I wrote Analysis several years ago for the Microsoft Windows operating system. I worked on this software, dedicated to function plotting, from 1997 to 2002. Some might still find it interesting since it is quite small and easy to use.
Introduction to Maxima (2007), FR, IT A function drawn with Maxima. Maxima is an open source version (GPL'ed) of the Macsyma project. Macsyma was the first algebraic manipulation language developed at the MIT between 1960's to mid 1980's. I tried to put together several real life examples, in order to have a rough idea of the flexibility and the power of this software.
Introduction to Gnuplot (2007-2008), FR, IT An example of Gnuplot session. Gnuplot is a widely used software for graphical plotting of scientific data. If it is correctly used, it can give very professional results, of typographic quality. In this article, we comment several more or less complex examples.
The mathematical symmetry of the differential pair (2011)
The symmetry of the differential pair.
I wrote this article for my blog on the italian site ElectroYou. The study is devoted to the transistor differential pair. In particular, it is shown that the effect of the circuit in linearity on the input signals can be interpreted as the result of a linear application. This application can be described via an appropriate matrix. It is demonstrated that the diagonalization of this matrix (by calculating eigenvalues and eigenvectors) yields naturally to the well known concepts of differential and common modes. This article has been written in english, a few days before Christmas 2011.

Mathématiques

Même si je ne suis pas un mathématicien au sens stricte du terme, j'ai toujours été très attiré par les mathématiques. J'ai donc décidé d'y dédier une section de mon site.
Introduction aux principes des fractales de Mandelbrot et de Julia (1998-2002), IT Un aperçu de l'ensemble de Mandelbrot Cet article, écrit il y a dix ans, décrit brièvement certaines propriétés et propose une méthode pour dessiner les ensembles de Mandelbrot et de Julia sur l'écran d'un ordinateur.
Fractales de Mandelbrot et de Julia en Java (2004), FR, IT Une vue de l'ensemble de Julia Un exemple de ceux que l'on peut obtenir à l'aide des techniques décrites dans l'intervention précédente. Voici deux petites appliquettes Java (dont je publie le code source), utiles pour dessiner directement à l'intérieur du navigateur les ensembles de Mandelbrot et de Julia.
Analsysis 2.3beta2 (1998-2002), FR, IT Une capture d'écran d'Analysis 2.3. Analysis est un logiciel pour Windows que j'ai écrit. Il peut être utile pour tracer les graphiques de fonctions. J'ai travaillé à ce logiciel pendant plusieurs années, jusqu'en 2002, et il est intéressant encore aujourd'hui, pour son agilité et sa simplicité d'utilisation.
Une introduction à Maxima (2007), FR, IT Une fonction avec Maxima. Maxima est une version OpenSource (sous la licence GPL) de Macsyma, le premier programme de manipulation algébrique développé au MIT entre la fin des années soixante et le début des années quatre-vingt du siècle dernier. J'ai recueilli et commenté certains exemples d'utilisation, qui permettent de se former une idée des possibilités énormes de ce logiciel.
Une introduction a Gnuplot (2007-2008), FR, IT Un example d'utilisation de Gnuplot. Gnuplot est un logiciel très utile pour tracer des graphiques scientifiques assez hétérogènes. S'il est utilisé correctement, il peut fournir des résultats de type professionnel, souvent bien supérieures à ceux obtenus par exemple avec Excel. Dans cet article, nous allons voir quelques exemples d'utilisation plus ou moins avancés.
The mathematical symmetry of the differential pair (2011)
La symétrie de la paire différentielle
Article tiré de mon blog sur le site italien ElectroYou. Cette étude est dédiée à la paire différentielle. En particulier, on montre que l'on peut représenter l'effet du circuit sur les signaux en entrée à l'aide d'une multiplication d'une matrice fois un vecteur. On y demontre ensuite que les notions de mode commun et mode différentiel sont étroitement liées aux valeurs propres et vecteurs propres de dite matrice. Cet article est disponible seulement en Anglais et a été publié quelques jours avant Noël 2011.