Miscellanea

Music
Programming
Old stuff

Music

I just love music since an early age. I enjoy J.S. Bach and Mozart. In the last years, I have seen a growing interest in contemporary music. Since then, I listen sometimes to Bartok, Henri Dutilleux, Arvo Part and Krzysztof Penderecki.

My double interest for electronics and music has lead quite unsurprisingly to spend some times on toys such as MIDI protocol and expanses, sequencers, synthesizers and stuff like that. I do not have a very developed composing vein, you can find here some music pieces written or somehow adapted by myself. I wrote some articles here and there.

The sounds samples come from an E-mu Proteus 2, some virtual instruments from Apple, a Roland digital piano as well as a GEM S2 keyboard.

The problem of the musical scale (2002-2007) Stream... Building a musical scale has not been an easy task. In this article, I describe briefly the path that lead to the modern tempered system for the tune of musical instruments. I present the mathematical rules useful to obtain the chromatic scale as well as the cents scale.
How to exchange musical samples via the MIDI SDS protocol (2003) Andalusia The MIDI SDS (Sample Dump Standard) is a protocol developed at the end of 1980's to allow different musical instruments to exchange sound samples via a MIDI link. I wrote a small command line utility for Microsoft Windows, to send a WAV file with this protocol to a keyboard or a MIDI expander able to understand this format.
belle.mp3 (3,4 MiB, 2005) Louvre Belle qui tiens ma vie is a very well known pavane, written at the end of XVI century by Thoinot Arbeau (anagram of Jehan Tabourot) and published in the Orchesographie book, a sort of renaissance dance handbook. It is the only piece which is completely harmonized for four voices. A pavane is traditionally a slow tempo dance, written in a two beat measure. Here I propose a version which is quite far from the original for what it concerns the rhythm, the harmony (yes, consecutive fifths are for good) and orchestration. Far from being a philological work, it is more a kind of a fairy tale dream.
tulip_ballad.mp3 (3,9 MiB, 2007) Snow Sometimes, I am somehow attracted by minimalism in the style of Yann Tiersen. My tulip ballad is a small test in this direction. This piece is based on an irregular decomposition (3+3+3+3+2+2 sixteenths) of a four beats measure.
bwv639.mp3 (3,8 MiB, 2007) Zooming An interpretation of a very well known Bach piece, the BWV639, from Orgelbüchlein. I do not try to do an historical interpretation, but just a thought to someone who is very far.

Programming

If you have already used my FidoCadJ (some of the links are also available in the Electronics section of this site), you might already have noticed that I have always been interested in programming. Here are some of my works.

FidoCadJ (2008-2012)

FidoCadJ icon

A Java editor for electrical circuits and technical drawings.
Libraries for FidoCadJ FidoCadJ libraries. Some libraries containing symbols for FidoCAD and FidoCadJ. The libraries have been published after their authors gave me the permission to do so.
FidoReadJ (2007-2012)
FidoReadJ A Java applet useful for showing FidoCadJ drawing directly in the web browser.
The Innuh pyramid (in italian) A text adventure game, adapted from an article published in 1984 from the italian review MCmicrocomputer.

Old stuff

Some old stuff...
Restoration of a Commodore VIC20 Restoration of a Commodore VIC20 Article describing the restoration of a Commodore VIC20, my first computer. I also describe a modification for obtaining a S-Video output.
3D maze for the Commodore 64 3D maze for the Commodore 64 A simple game based on the exploration of a 3D maze, programmed in C and released in 2017.
HP9000/217 with HP7957B and HP9122 HP9000/217 workstation Some photos of the HP9000/217 workstation with HP7957B hard disk and HP9122 disk driver.
Macintosh SE/30 from 1989 Apple Mac SE/30 I spent some time to work on a SE/30 to clean and repair it. Now this computer, with some understandable difficulties, can browse the world wide web...
Lancia Fulvia sedan from 1972 Lancia Fulvia I own a Lancia Fulvia sedan from 1972, inscribed to the italian registry of historical cars. I uploaded in this article a few pictures.
My MG TF 160 Lancia Fulvia I have a MG TF 160, a little british roadster which is a great fun to drive.


Creative Commons License
The works published in this page are distributed under a Creative Commons license.

Divers

Musique
Programmation
Vieilleries

Musique

Je suis passionné de musique depuis toujours. J'apprécie en particulier la musique de J.S. Bach et de Mozart. Depuis quelques années, j'écoute avec plaisir grandissant un peu de musique contemporaine, de Bartok à Henri Dutilleux, de Arvo Part à Krzysztof Penderecki.

Mes doubles intérêts pour l'électronique et la musique m'ont très naturellement porté à m'intéresser à des jouets tels que le protocole MIDI, expandeurs, sequencers, synthétiseurs et autre. Même si je n'ai pas une grande habilité compositrice, ici j'ai mis entre autre quelques morceaux assez légers, sur lequel j'ai travaillé dans ces derniers années. Il y a aussi des articles sur des arguments assez variés.

Les sons que l'on entend proviennent d'un expander E-mu Proteus 2, des instruments virtuels de chez Apple, d'un piano numérique Roland et d'un clavier GEM S2.

Le problème de la gamme musicale (2002-2007) Rivière La construction d'une gamme musicale n'est pas banale. Dans cet article, je décris très rapidement le parcours qui a mené au développement du système tempéré, actuellement utilisé pour accorder les instruments de musique. Je présente aussi les règles mathématiques utilisées pour construire la gamme chromatique tempérée et la gamme des cents.
Echanger des échantillons à l'aide du protocôle MIDI SDS (2003) Andalusia Le protocole MIDI SDS (Sample Dump Standard) s'est affirmé vers la fin des années quatre-vingt pour permettre d'échanger des échantillons entre instruments avec une liaison MIDI. Je propose ici un petit logiciel à ligne de commande. Il permet d'envoyer un fichier WAV avec ce protocole à un clavier ou à un expander capable de comprendre ce format.
belle.mp3 (3,4 MiB, 2005) Louvre Belle qui tiens ma vie est une pavane très connue, écrite vers la fin du XVI siècle par Thoinot Arbeau (anagramme de Jehan Tabourot) et publié dans l'Orchesographie, un manuel de danse de la renaissance. Il s'agit du seul morceau de tout le bouquin qui est complètement harmonisé en quatre voix. Une pavane est traditionnellement une danse de caractère grave, écrite dans un temps binaire. J'en propose ici une version très loine de l'originale dans son rythme, harmonie (oui, les quintes parallèles sont cherchées...) et orchestration. Loin d'être un travail de philologie, il s'agit d'un moyen-âge fabuleux et rien d'autre qu'un rêve.
tulip_ballad.mp3 (3,9 MiB, 2007) Neige De temps en temps, j'ai des tendances minimalistes à la Yann Tiersen. Ma ballade te la tulipe est en fait un essai en cette direction et est basée surtout sur une décomposition du type 3+3+3+3+2+2 seizièmes d'une mesure en 4/4.
bwv639.mp3 (3,8 MiB, 2007) Zooming Une relecture d'un morceau de Bach très célèbre, le BWV639, de l'Orgelbüchlein. Ici aussi, je n'ai aucun but philologique. Juste une pensée à quelqu'un qui est loin.

Programmation

Qui a eu l'occasion d'utiliser mon FidoCadJ (je reporte ici aussi les liens déjà présents dans la section dédiée à l'électronique) a pu se rendre compte que je m'intéresse depuis toujours de programmation. Voici donc quelques travaux assez divers.

FidoCadJ (2008-2012)

Icone FidoCadJ

Un éditeur Java pour schémas électriques et simples dessins techniques.
Bibliothèques FidoCad Bibliothèques de symboles FidoCadJ Une recolte de bibliothèques de symboles adaptées à FidoCAD et FidoCadJ, publiés avec l'accord de leurs auteurs.
FidoReadJ (2007-2012)
FidoCadJ Une appliquette pour lire et montrer les dessins en format FidoCadJ sans devoir sortir du navigateur.
La piramide di Innuh (en italien) Un jeu d'aventure textuel en italien, adapté depuis un article du 1984 de la revue italienne MCmicrocomputer.

Vieilleries

Quelques choses anciennes...
Labyrinthe 3D pour le Commodore 64 Labyrinthe 3D pour le Commodore 64 Un simple jeu d'exploration d'un labyrinthe 3D, écrit en C en 2017 pour le Commodore 64.
HP9000/217 avec HP7957B e HP9122 Station de travail HP9000/217 Quelques photos d'une station de travail HP9000/217 avec disque dur HP7957B et lecteur de disquettes HP9122.
Un Macintosh SE/30 de 1989 Apple Mac SE/30 J'ai passé un peu de temps à récupérer un SE/30 pour le nettoyer à fond et le remettre en état de marche. L'appareil, bien qu'avec des difficultés, peut naviguer le www...
Une Lancia Fulvia berline de 1972 Lancia Fulvia J'ai une Lancia Fulvia berline datant du 1972, inscrite au registre italien de voitures historiques. Ici j'ai téléchargé quelques photos.
Ma MG TF 160 Lancia Fulvia J'ai une MG TF 160, un petit spider very british qui est très sympa à conduire.


Creative Commons License
Les oeuvres dans cette page sont publiées sous une Licence Creative Commons.