Electronics

Introduction
Projects, software and circuits
Articles on ElectroYou
My little lab
Disclaimer

In this section, I will describe some small electronic projects. Even if most of the circuits presented here are relatively simple, I do not think it is a good place to start for an absolute beginner. Very often, I just give the schematics, the source code if a microcontroller is used and a few words about the behavior of the circuit. I use to savage components from old boards and so I leave to the reader the task of choosing the absolute best devices for the circuit he is fabricating (which are not always the same I adopted). I am acquainted with CAD programs such as Eagle and Altium Designer, but for my hobby circuits I am more interested in the circuit itself than in the nice PCB on the screen of a computer. I use very often breadboards and I give the handwritten schematics. This changed a little bit since I wrote FidoCadJ, which allows me to draw schematics very fast. I am eager to discuss about improvements, corrections and suggestions on my circuits, or to see photos of your circuits.


1973 Nixie frequency counter
 

Projects, software and circuits

FidoCadJ (2008-2016)

FidoCadJ icon

A very simple yet complete graphical editor for electronic circuits and PCBs. FidoCadJ is completely multi platform and is an Open Source project downloaded by hundreds of persons each week.
Analog Electronics for Measuring Instruments

book cover

ISTE/Wiley published my book about measuring instruments.
FidoReadJ (2007-2013)
FidoCadJ circuit A little Java applet useful to understand and interpret drawings in the FidoCadJ format, directly inside a web browser.
Playing with chaos (2016)
A strange attractor I built several Chua's circuits showing chaotic behaviors. Videos available!
PHONO RIAA vacuum tube preamplifier for MM cartridges (2015)
AT 440MLa grooving. My attempt to build a HiFi PHONO preamplifier for moving magnet cartridges, employing vacuum tubes.
Amplificateur 55 W + 55 W (2011-2015)
Stereo amplifier An article dedicated to building a stereo power amplifier, based on the P3A project, by Rod Elliott.
The serial protocol I2C with a 16F84 PIC (2004)
I2C lines A description of the bitbanging routines I wrote for connecting I2C devices to a 16F84 PIC from Microchip. This model is now obsolete, and more advanced devices including an USART now cost a fraction of the 16F84. In any case, this article may still be read as an introduction to the I2C protocol.
A clock based on PIC16F84 and PCF8573, first part (2004) A photo of the clock A description of a clock built around some 7 segment displays, a PCF8573 and a PIC16F84 microcontroller. A practical example of a communication on a I2C bus.
A clock based on PIC16F84 and PCF8573, second part (2004-2007)
A photo of the clock The second part of the article describing the clock, with the description of a 60-led indicator for the seconds.
A nixie clock, version 1.0 (2007)
Nixie clock A nixie clock based on a PIC16F84, powered by a low voltage supply.
A nixie clock, version 2.1 (2008)
Nixie clock A nixie clock, built around a PIC16F84. Improved version with a freely available PCB.
A 20 W compact fluorescent light inverter (2009)
The converter being... converting An inverter adapted for lighting a 20 W compact fluorescent light from a 12 V power supply. Very useful for garages or other places where the mains power is not available.
Midi canal splitter based on a PIC16F876 (2005-2007) Midi splitter... while splitting A simple MIDI application based on a 16F876 PIC.
An ESR four probes tester (2007)
The ESR meter circuit An effort of proposing a precise circuit, but not too much complex, to mesure the Equivalent Series Resistance (ESR) of an electrolytic capacitor. In my prototype, one can appreciate a 0.010 ohm resistance.

Articles on ElectroYou

In the last years, I participated quite frequently to the very nice ElectroYou portal. The level of the discussions and of the skills of the participants are impressive. This is due thanks to the site admin and webmaster, who honored me by choosing FidoCadJ as the standard system for exchanging drawings and schematics in the discussions and in the articles. Here are some of the articles I wrote for this website. The images have been provided by Zeno Martini, ElectroYou admin.


ElectroYou
 
Disegnare circuiti con FidoCAD e FidoCadJ (2010) Icona FidoCadJ In italian, a sort of historical article: the first presentation of the integration of FidoCadJ in the forum and in the articles of ElectroYou.
Domande frequenti su FidoCadJ (2010-2011) FidoCadJ FAQ In italian, the answers to the most frequent questions about FidoCadJ.
FidoCadJ and ElectroYou (Eng, 2011) FidoCadJ su ElectroYou Available in english and co-authored by Zeno Martini, in this article I describe the integration between FidoCadJ and ElectroYou. This is a much more modern and mature article than the very first one I wrote at the very beginning of the development of this integration.
The mathematical symmetry of the differential pair (2011) The symmetry of the differential pair Available in english, a study of the differential pair. The originality of the study is that the common mode and the differential modes are introduced as the eigenvectors of the operator representing the effect of the circuit on the vector representing the electrical state of the inputs. This article was published a few days before Christmas 2011.
Curve tracing: a journey among electronic devices (2013) Tracing curves of electronics devices All (or almost all) you ever wanted to know about curve tracing of electronic devices and you never dared to ask. A journey among electronic tubes and solid-state devices (vacuum, gas and silicon rectifiers, triodes for small signals and power applications, bipolar and JFET transistors for low and high power).
Misure di distorsione in campo audio (2016) Distorsione in campo audio. What is the harmonic distortion (THD and THD+N) in HiFi and how it may be measured.

My little lab

I started being interested in electronics in 1989, but only in 2004 I decided to have a little electronics laboratory in my home. I am not really well equipped, but it is OK for my needs. I have two 10 MHz oscilloscopes on my bench, and one of those (a 1978 Gould OS4000) can be used as an analog as well as a digital oscilloscope. I also own a nice nixie frequency counter from 1973. I begun by building a small switching power supply (2 A and 20 V) which has been then completed with two digital meters. I built also an analog signal generator with 4 ranges from 10 Hz to 40 kHz, various meters such as an inductance meter, ad ESR meter. This is enough for some interesting low frequency projects.

 
My little lab

Disclaimer

I can not be considered as responsible in any way for the damages qui could result from a misbehaviour of the circuits presented here. In particular, the reader MUST take an extreme care of the circuits powered directly by the mains, where the high voltage can be very dangerous. In any case, all the security rules imposed by the laws must be respected carefully.

Electronique

Introduction
Projets, logiciels et circuits
Articles sur ElectroYou
Mon labo
Disclaimer

Dans cette section, je vais présenter des petits projets électroniques. Même si la plupart des circuits sont plutôt simples, je ne conseille pas à des débutants de commencer ici. Souvent, je ne donne pas tous les détails de la construction des circuits, mais juste le schéma électrique, le code source du logiciel embarqué et éventuellement quelques idées de construction. Très souvent, j'utilise des composant que je récupère et je laisse donc au lecteur le choix des composants les plus adaptés sur le catalogue d'un fournisseur (donc, pas forcement ceux que j'ai adoptés). Je sais me servir de logiciels de CAO électronique, mais pour mes réalisations, je suis beaucoup plus intéressé à la conception du circuit, plutôt que à la réalisation d'une carte et avoir dans un ordinateur un joli schéma. Je travaille donc souvent avec des cartes à trous universelles et je me limite à fournir le schéma dessiné à la main (rare, de nos jours). Il faut dire que cela a changé un peu depuis que j'ai écrit FidoCadJ, car il me permet de dessiner des schémas rapidement. Naturellement, je suis tout à fait ouvert à des suggestions, corrections sur mes considérations, ou à recevoir des photos de vos réalisations.


1973 Nixie frequency counter
 

Projects, logiciels et circuits

FidoCadJ (2008-2013)

Icone FidoCadJ

Une mise en ouvre d'un éditeur léger mais complet de schémas et circuits électriques. Le logiciel est complètement multiplateforme, et une version spécifique pour MacOSX est fournie pour rendre la vie plus simple pour qui veut s'en servir sur ce système. FidoCadJ constitue actuellement un de principales contributions techniques à ce site.
Librairies FidoCadJ Bibliothéques FidoCadJ Une récolte de bibliothèques de composants FidoCadJ, publiées avec l'accord des auteurs.
FidoReadJ (2007-2013)
Example FidoCadJ Une petite appliquette écrite en Java pour représenter des dessins en format FidoCadJ directement à l'intérieur de son navigateur.
Amplificateur 55 W + 55 W (2011)
Amplificateur stéreo Un article dédié à la réalisation d'un amplificateur stéreo, basé sur le projet P3A de Rod Elliott.
Le protocole série I2C avec un PIC 16F84 (en Italien, 2004)
I2C lines Cette intervention est la description des routines que j'ai utilisées pour relier un PIC16F84 avec un dispositif I2C. Le microcontrôleur utilisé est maintenant obsolète et des modèles avec une USART peuvent être utilisés à sa place. De toute façon, il peut être intéressant de lire cette intervention, comme introduction du protocole I2C.
Un horloge avec PIC16F84 et PCF8573, partie I (2004) Une photo de la carte La description d'un horloge réalisé avec des afficheurs sept segments, un PCF8573 contrôlé par un PIC16F84. Un intéressant exemple pratique de communication sur le bus I2C
Un horloge avec PIC16F84 et PCF8573, partie II (2004-2007)
Une photo de l'horloge La deuxième partie de l'intervention sur la réalisation de l'horloge, avec la description d'une couronne formée par 60 diodes électroluminescentes pour les secondes.
Un horloge à nixie, version 1.0 (2007)
Une photo de l'horloge à nixie Un horloge à nixie, alimenté en baisse tension et réalisé autour d'un PIC16F84.
Un horloge à nixie, version 2.1 (2008)
Une photo de l'horloge à nixie Un horloge à nixie, alimenté en baisse tension et réalisé autour d'un PIC16F84. Version améliorée et avec circuit imprimé librement téléchargeable.
Un convertisseur pour ampoule fluorescente 20 W (2009)
Une photo du convertisseur en train de... convertir ! Un convertisseur adapté à allumer une ampoule fluorescente 20 W, à partir d'une alimentation à batterie 12 V. Très utile pour l'illumination de caves ou garages où une prise à 230 V n'est pas disponible.
Séparateur de canaux MIDI avec un PIC16F876 (en Italien, 2005-2007) Le séparateur MIDI en train de... séparer. Une application simple d'un PIC16F876 au monde MIDI, un standard très diffusé de communication entre instruments électroniques de musique.
Un mesureur d'ESR à quatre pointes (en Italien, 2007)
Une photo du circuit du mesureur d'ESR Une tentative de proposer quelque chose de plus précis, mais pas trop compliqué, pour mesurer la résistance équivalente série (ESR) des condensateurs électrochimiques. Dans mon prototype, on arrive à apprécier une ESR de l'ordre de 0,010 ohm.

Articles pour ElectroYou

Dans les dernières années, j'ai participé de façon plutôt régulière dans le site italien ElectroYou . La qualité des discussions et des intervenants est vraiment très élevée. Cela est dû aux efforts du webmaster, qui m'a fait l'honneur de choisir FidoCadJ en tant que système officiel d'échange des dessins et des schémas électriques dans les articles et dans les interventions sur le forum. Voici en cette section quelques articles que j'ai écrit pour ce site. Les images ont été préparées par Zeno Martini, l'administrateur du site.


ElectroYou
 
Disegnare circuiti con FidoCAD e FidoCadJ (2010) Dessiner circuits avec FidoCadJ En italien, une sorte d'article historique : la toute première présentation de l'intégration de FidoCadJ dans le forum et dans les articles en ElectroYou.
Domande frequenti su FidoCadJ (2010-2011) Questions sur FidoCadJ. Et réponses. En italien, les réponses aux questions posées le plus fréquemment sur FidoCadJ.
FidoCadJ and ElectroYou (2011) FidoCadJ sur ElectroYou Article disponible en anglais et rédigé avec Zeno Martini, où j'ai décrit l'intégration entre FidoCadJ et ElectroYou. Cela est une version beaucoup plus moderne et mûre du tout premier article que j'ai écrit au tout début.
The mathematical symmetry of the differential pair (2011) La symétrie mathématique de la paire différentielle. Disponible en anglais, cet article propose l'étude de la paire différentielle. L'originalité de l'approche consiste dans le fait que le mode commun et le mode différentiel sont interprétés comme étant les vecteurs propres de l'opérateur représentant l'effet du circuit sur l'état électrique de ses entrées. Cet article a été publié quelque peu avant Noël 2011, d'où l'image proposée.
Curve tracing: a journey among electronic devices (2013) Curves de dispositifs électroniques. Tout (ou presque) ce que vous avez toujours voulu savoir sur les curves des dispositifs électroniques et vous n'avez jamais osé demander. Un voyage parmi lampes électroniques et dispositifs à l'état solide (redresseurs à vide, à gaz et à semi-conducteur, triodes pour signal et puissance, transistors bipolaires et JFET pour le signal et la puissance).

Mon laboratoire

J'ai commencé à m'intéresser d'électronique en 1989, mais seulement depuis 2004 j'ai pu mettre ensemble un petit laboratoire dédié de façon stable à cette activité. J'ai deux oscilloscopes avec une bande passante de 10 MHz, un complètement analogique et un combiné analogique/numérique (un Gould OS4000 fabriqué en 1978). J'ai aussi un joli fréquence-mètre à Nixie de 1973 et j'ai fabriqué moi même mon alimentation stabilisée (20 V 2 A), quelques instruments de mesure (inductance-mètre, ESR des condensateurs...) et un générateur basse fréquence capable de générer signaux sinusoïdaux de fréquence comprise entre 10 Hz et 40 kHz. Récemment, j'ai acheté des boîtes de rangement avec des centaines de petits tiroirs, indispensables pour ranger mes composants passifs et actifs.

Mon p'tit labo
 

Disclaimer

ATTENTION : je ne serai en aucune façon responsable des dégâts qui pourront être dérivés du mauvais fonctionnement des circuits proposés ici. En particulier, le lecteur soignera la réalisation de circuits alimentés par le secteur, où il y a des tensions dangereuses. Dans ces cas, toutes les règles de sécurité imposées par la loi doivent être respectées.